The end of an era (BloggingU #4)

final_fantasy_ix_by_kamaniki-d5i4zc6

Hello people of the world. When I started writing this post yesterday, I was actually on time for the daily post schedule but of course I messed it up and I’m late again. Todays post is supposed to be the first in a three part series about loss.Although its part of the challenge I think that I’ll skip on the twist in this post because I’d rather not rehash things that bother me.  I for the most part try to put the bad incidents in my life behind me but there are a few that come to mind when I think of loss.

I realize that loss can be pretty painful which is why I have chosen a topic which may seem very insignificant to most of you but it affected me a lot back then.

It was around ten years ago, I was living in Europe at the time and my parents had just gotten my brother and I a PS1. The PlayStation was the most high tech gaming device at the time and I’m very grateful they bought it for us because it introduced us to a whole new world. One of those worlds was that of Final Fantasy 9

FF9 was one of the first games my brother and I ever played on the PS and since we were complete novices, it took us absolutely ages. I don’t think I ever really played the game but I was watching every step of the way, telling my older brother to, go through the other corridor or use a different kind of spell etc. Also since we only had pirated games we had to purchase each of the four discs separately.

I think in total it took us about a year to finally finish it and when we did I felt euphoric. Everything was great and the happy endings had been achieved but then it struck me that the game was actually over and it was  almost as if someone had died.

This game was something my brother and I had devoted the majority of our days to, for the past year and suddenly I couldn’t imagine what I was going to do for the rest of my life. I remember just sitting there for an hour thinking “I’ve got to do something anything” but I couldn’t move. I may or may not have cried a bit that night.

Anyway what I wanted to say was that loss is relative. Things which may seem small now could have meant the world to us then so we should never dismiss the little things that make us who we are.

 

 

2 responses to “The end of an era (BloggingU #4)

Leave a Reply

