The Name

name

 

Words have power. I don’t know if its exposure to too much fantasy or just a philosophical thought but I feel that words affect people in ways we can and can’t see. I think names define us in a way that we don’t understand till later. My name for example means “helper of man”  and that is something that is very close to me because I feel that even before I knew the meaning of the word, my parents understanding of it and other factors pushed me in a direction that conformed with my name.

For those who are completely opposite to their namesake, that may be because they are in unconscious rebellion of the  expectations that have been put on them.

It may not affect you in a way that is immediately tangible but in some way or the other our names affect us and make us who we are.

This will all probably sound like bull shit to you guys and I don’t blame you, I can’t seem to put the thought across well right now but I hope you got the gist of it.

Anyway the reason I brought up the topic of names is, I wanted to explain the meaning of the titles of the blog and of my own user name. This was a post I meant to do in the first week after starting the blog but somehow I never got around to doing it so I’m going to do it now.

First the name of the blog. Initially I wasn’t going for “looking and perceiving” rather I was hoping to get one of two names, “the pride” or “the valor” in reference to “gay pride”. The aim of these blogs was to reach out to the LGBT teens out there who were having trouble accepting themselves. I had accepted my sexuality petty easily and I thought that through the blog I could help people who couldn’t.

Needless to say that did not happen. Both the names for the blogs were taken and as I kept writing my blog turned into more of a way to vent my own feelings rather than to help others.

I can’t say I mind much; maintaining the blog was a wonderful thing and kept me occupied with new ideas every day but later I got depressed at having wandered so far from my original purpose.

I’m going to leave it at that because if I start going there isn’t going to be an end to it.

As for the user name it’s “Marching to drums” i.e marching to the beat of your own drum. I have always tried to go my own way throughout my life and somehow it seemed like an appropriate title for me.

I don’t expect you to believe in my idea about names but I wanted to clarify that I meant what I said in a purely psychological point of view and not a mystical way (although that would be more entertaining)

Anyway on a final lighter note; I wanted to tell you guys an anecdote about a girl called “lusty kutty”. Kutty in malayalam means child so basically the girls name is lusty child.

Before you ask; no I did not make this up, no I don’t know what her parents were thinking but for her sake I hope they don’t know what lusty means because if they knowingly named their daughter lusty and then sent her to the mercy of ruthless school children, then they need to be sent a special kind of prison reserved for people that fuck up their children’s lives.

And that’s it for today. I’m sorry that this post is kinda weird and…..I don’t know what it is but anyway I hope you are having a wonderful day/night/evening/afternoon/noon wherever you are.

Leave a Reply

