They don’t see me

Grandparents

(Photo credit: natematias)

Hello people of the world. There isn’t much to say about today. It was a pretty uneventful day, I  did talk to Mr chatroom and messed up big time. He told it was fine and he spent the rest of the time trying to cheer me up. I won’t tell you what I did wrong because you guys will think I am a complete douche. This post won’t be about my bungling attempts at online friendship/dating it is actually going to talk about something more familial.

I was thinking about my grandparents. I don’t know if I have mentioned this before but I am currently living with them in Kerala which is a state in India. I usually live in Delhi and was born there but my whole family is from Kerala. There is a lot of history behind that but I won’t go into it. Anyway as I was saying I’ve been living with them for about two weeks and you know what I found. I have found that they don’t know who or what I am.

My grandmother is the most extreme case. I have the distinct idea that she doesn’t even know my name. She calls me “small kid”. Keep in mind that is a literal translation she does know that I am her grandson. Part of it has to do with her age. These days she seems to forget a lot. My grandfather has a different kind of  ignorance, he doesn’t seem to know who I am as a person. Compared to my grandma he has more of an idea about who I am but he can’t seem to compute what I think. This might again be a side effect of age or different generation but I think there is more to it.

I have stopped trying to get through to them because I don’t see the point anymore. They don’t want to know who I am because it is too much effort. At this age it must be difficult to adjust to new things and even though my brother has been living there, he also has a different way of thinking and it took them four years to get to an understanding.

Anyway I can’t think of anyway to really make them understand me but I think as long as I am doing what they say, they will be alright not knowing who I am. This doesn’t make me sad really. I haven’t known them long enough to worry about them caring.

That’s about it for today. I hope you are having a great day/night. Also did I mention that the chat room guy is hot because he is.

BYE

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses to “They don’t see me

  1. My father’s grandmother( my great grandma) doesn’t call me by the right name. It’s close to my name but it’s not my name. So I get what you mean. She’s too old for me to try and get her to g it right now.

Leave a Reply

