When walls come down

Court-strikes-down-DOMA

 

Hello people of the world. Today I am happy, not a little bit happy but for the most part I am ecstatic. The ruling came two days ago that DOMA (Defence of marriage act) and Proposition 8 were unconstitutional. i suppose my happiness isn’t as warranted as it is for the people actually living in America but I can’t help but feel hopeful and happy for all the wonderful people who have worked for this moment and for all the same-sex couples that finally will have the same rights as others.

There are some side effects to the ruling that I only realized later but for the most part this is a landmark decision and from now on, I hope that things will  be heading in the right direction. I have been keeping up with news about DOMA and Prop 8 because it does affect me, even if it is in a lesser extent. For those who don’t know what these bills entail, the basic rundown is, DOMA was made by the conservatives in America who think that marriage can be only between a man and a woman and want to ban same-sex marriage entirely and Proposition 8 was made to ban same-sex marriage specifically in California.

This may not change anything for me. In india I may still be a second class citizen, but for me this signifies hope. This means that sometimes the majority do see sense and that the time is not so far away when I can be openly gay in India.

There are so many loopholes, especially in relation to the wording that the supreme court used. According to the wording, now decisions on in relation to same-sex marriage will be entirely a state issue now. Now even if the central government wants to implement a change only the state government will be able to finally affect it. This is a disappointment but I think at least for today lets focus on the positive side and look at the good things that are to come.

I have made a list of  four videos I found on YouTube that reminded me of the people this would affect and of the people who give me hope. I hope you enjoy them.

This is RussMarine2014. I haven’t featured him yet but I think this video of his is perfect for the occasion. When I watched this I almost cried, as it is I banged my head against the bed repeatedly at the awesome adorableness of it all. If this doesn’t make you smile, then you aren’t human (or are suffering from deep emotional trauma or a physical inability to smile)

 

If you have been following this blog for a while then you definitely know who Shep689 are. Will and RJ are the cutest couple I have ever seen and they make me happy by just being themselves. I think that is a great gift. This is a video they made to celebrate pride month.

 

This video isn’t on a vloggers channel but actually on the channel of an advert company. These guys focus on making ads especially for LGBT people. I’m not too impressed about the motive but the ads are great and this video in particular was wonderful.

 

This last video is actually an Indian ad. The ad is pretty bold. India has not had a good history in relation to LGBT ads, so in light not so ancient history, I was actually expecting some negative feedback for this ad, but surprisingly there has been little to no negative comments made. I have a feeling that the metaphor went over the heads of most of the extremists and the people that did get it approved of it. Whatever the reason I am glad to see the increase in LGBT awareness in India. I hope that it is only a matter of time till it is finally accepted.

 

That’s all for today, I hope these videos brighten your day as they did mine. Also I know I meant to make a Bollywood song list but I got side tracked by this. I’ll make sure I do it for the next week.

 

BYE

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses to “When walls come down

Leave a Reply

