That’s so gay (I’ve got Issues #1)

Ever since i started writing a blog I realized I really have a lot to talk about. If you read my posts and have seen the frequency of them you might think I’m a real chatterbox,but really I’m not mostly I’m pretty reserved…..really……… seriously I am pretty quite

Well you weren’t going to believe me anyway,so the real reason for this post is to introduce a new weekly segment called
Drum roll please (makes drumming noise on table)…..”I’ve got Issues“,and this is not just a statement of fact (although since i do have issues its funny!………right?).

The point of this segment is to bring to light things that have been bothering me, a list which has been growing longer recently.So without further ado i give to you the  very first edition of  I’ve got Issues

#1

As the name of the post suggests today i am going to talk about homosexual slurs. Faggot,Fag,Dike,Lezzy, Fudge packer , if you haven’t been living under a rock for that past fifty years chances are you have heard these words. All of these words are hurtful,hateful and born out of ignorance, but one of the things that they all have in common is that they are direct.They straight away (pardon the pun) tell people that they hate gay people with all the moachoness one can muster, but one of the most insidious insults to gay people is one that hardly even registers in our radar.It is the seemingly innocuous phrase That’s so gay

Many people gay or straight might say brush it off saying that it means nothing but the truth is this phrase tells more about the real psyche of our society than the other swear words because the  damage done is not clearly visible.To illustrate this point i would like to draw upon a song that i  love by Macklemore&Ryan Lewis called same love (http://youtu.be/hlVBg7_08n0)

If I was gay, I would think hip-hop hates me
Have you read the YouTube comments lately
“Man, that’s gay” gets dropped on the daily
We become so numb to what we’re saying
A culture founded from oppression
Yet we don’t have acceptance for ‘em
Call each other faggots behind the keys of a message board
A word rooted in hate, yet our genre still ignores it
Gay is synonymous with the lesser

As so wonderfully shown in this song we can see that this phrase i a symptom of a deep-seated unease that straight people have.Of all the words that they could use why would they use gay to describe something bad.

I was pretty surprised to find friends that knew I was gay using the same words, and while they may not mean it that way anyone who hears it would automatically get the impression that being gay is a bad thing. The feeling that gay=bad  is a teaching that is carried on through our generation and passed on to the next,and if the tolerant people of today continue to use such terminology then how can we expect others to change.

It’s about time we took a good hard look at our actions and realized that what we say has power and  whether we intend to cause an effect or not invariably there is one.So be careful,be kind, and be thoughtful.

Now for those who feel that they have been robbed of a perfectly good phrase here are some substitutes you could try on

That’s so  stupid

That’s so  lame

That’s so   f#@ked up

That’s so messed up

That’s so  irritating/annoying

You are so doushy

some more cleaver ones can be found at the top of the post.

That’s it for tonight people I’m ready to hit the hay.If you’ve stayed with this post long enough to get till here I just wanted to tell you in advance next weeks issue is “discrimination in the work place”.If you liked this post or are pissed of by anything  i had to say please let me know I’d love to hear from you

2 responses to “That’s so gay (I’ve got Issues #1)

  1. A pretty eye-opening read..
    It does clearly show how people sometimes can easily hurt others without even realizing it.
    Makes me wonder about loads of moments where I’ve done something similar and not realize it.

Leave a Reply

